Wrecking, Workshops, Words

Wreck The Airline Barrier opens tomorrow, with I think a preview tonight.  Sounds like I’ll be ducking back in briefly to check with the cast tonight- I’ve enjoyed working with them, so speaking selfishly anyway I’m glad to get the opportunity.

Working with a relatively new vendor down in California who makes breakaway bottles and dishes- while we’re still hashing out possible wholesale accounts, etc, at the very least it means I should have a sampler of breakaways for students to use in the Tricks of the Trade workshop coming up on the 4th.  Still room in all three of my upcoming workshops, and I’ve started getting inquiries about possible repeats of all of them from people with scheduling conflicts.  Not enough in any specific one to justify the expenses involved yet, but hopefully with the positive buzz following the first round, I can make that happen.

Always nice to get some of my opinions validated by others, especially those with their own devoted following, like Felicia Day, who had a recent blog post including some of my long-held beliefs:

There’s nothing worse to watch than an actor who is:

a) Holding a coffee cup with no liquid in it

b) Lugging a suitcase that is empty

c) Wielding a gun like they’re an idiot girl.

I have never shot a gun before, if fact I’ve resisted all my life.  But
lately I’ve been called on in acting auditions, and even had a job,
where I had to use a gun.

I couldn’t agree more.  An empty coffee cup is a travesty.

Oh, and the other- yes, she’s been getting auditions where she is supposed to handle a gun, and good for her for wanting to work on that.  Good for her also for having a dad who’s happy to show her how to do so safely.Granted, I think there’s some very key things that range training misses that actors should get in firearms training, and hopefully that will get addressed at my workshop.  Live fire, even at a public range (which tends to mean no drawing and firing, no rapid fire at all, and other restrictions), does at least generally get across the idea of what it feels like to have something in your hand that can cause serious damage to living tissue with just a little movement of your finger.  That’s of value.  One of the instructors up at the Paddy Crean this last year did something similar by having us learn some techniques with sharp straight-razors, and it was interesting to see and feel that dynamic used in ways I haven’t seen people do before in a stage combat classroom.

Finally, in closing, I’d just like to acknowledge the departure of one of Seattle’s SAFD certified stage combat instructors, Bob Borwick.  He’s been here for a while, got his CT a couple years back, and I’ve done the majority of my renewals with him in the last few years.  He and his family are moving away to be closer to their own families, now that they have two kids of their own.  I wish them happy trails, but am sad for the loss to Seattle.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

