Best Laid Plans

Didn’t win the Hunted contest- was a very close fourth place after the judging.  Thanks to those who watched and rated- if they’d gone with that as the judging criteria, we’d have gotten a pretty solid second place.  As is the results surprised a lot of people, including Bob Chapin, whose series this was for.  Still, response and feedback have been good, and I think my volunteers are still all glad they participated.  I’ve gotten tons of complements from Bob Chapin, good words from the wife of one of the judges (Anthony DeLongis), and apparently the stunt coordinator judge liked it.  most notably “Fuzz Meets Fangs” for action which caught the attention of our stunt coordinator Jeff Pruitt.”

..

..

Seem to have developed this in the last half a year:
http://allergies.about.com/od/urticariahives/a/coldurticaria.htm
Been trying to figure out what the heck I was having occasional skin reactions to.  Something in my shop, metal or wood shavings on my hands and bottoms of my feet last winter?  Vegetables I’ve been washing?  Water from the Puget Sound?  I think the outside of a cup of ice cream was the thing that finally made me decide there was no way in hell this had anything to do with an allergen, and was just cold.  Haven’t been able to determine any cause or cure or suspected duration or anything, though.  Cold’s a pretty lame-ass thing to be allergic to, I’ve got to say.  Why am I mentioning this in a stunt and stage combat blog?  Because I was worried it would keep me from doing anything further with stunt burns.  Fortunately it doesn’t completely preclude burns, which are usually done using very cold gel.  The team here in Seattle made a few minor accommodations for me and it worked fine:
..

..
I’ll be doing safety on a film burn gig this coming weekend.  Still can’t prep others with the cold gel, or go completely cold with my own, but hey, it’s better than I feared.

I’ll probably be downsizing… everything… in the next half year or so.  I’ll try to get more organized about things later, but in the meantime, if anyone’s interested in things like bouldering crash mats, safety harnesses, airsoft guns, armor, tools, etc, let me know.  Still trying to figure out how much of the rental business or general toy inventory I can keep, and how much I need to unload.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

