First WP posting

The blog is now moving to WordPress, although I may continue re-posting to MySpace for a while, in the off chance anyone has that linked, RSS fed, or for those subscribed.  The direct address will now be https://fightdesigner.wordpress.com

Housekeeping aside, it’s been a little while since I found time to update, mostly due to life circumstances irrelevant to my work as a fight choreographer or armorer.

I never took the chance to do a post-mortem of Fuzz Meets Fangs.

Fuzz Meets Fangs from Kevin Inouye on Vimeo.

(apparently Vimeo embedding doesn’t work in WP, but YouTube does?)

…so here’s a few of the lessons learned from this project:

1.Sound matters!

Okay, a lesson re-learned, which I’m sure I’ll have to re-learn many times again… I bought a second shotgun microphone that got to me halfway through the shoot- should have done that earlier, and should have gotten one of the PAs to hold at least one on a boom during the swordfight scene, and hidden one under a table close to the front during the briefing.  Also need to establish working relationships with good sound people who actually know what they’re doing, before trying something like this again.

2. Test everything

Had multiple props basically not work on set, despite being fine the last time I’d tried them… but that had been months before the shoot.

3. You can’t do it all… at least not well.

As writer, director, gun wrangler, wardobe, cameraman, sound man, fight choreographer,  casting director, art director, location scout, etc etc on this, I know a number of those areas suffered.  I knew I wasn’t the best choice for some of those jobs, and just did them out of necessity, but what I hadn’t sufficiently anticipated was the degree to which even the things I normally specialize in would suffer due to the other demands on my time and attention.  The person running camera, even though they’re looking right at it, shouldn’t be the person making sure hits sell.  Stuff like that.

4. Rules are sometimes rules, and sometimes just suggestions…

A number of the submissions to the contest didn’t completely stick to the stated rules- including the winner.  Apparently it never hurts to ask.

5. If at all possible, schedule sit-down working time with the editor and other post-production team members.

I still have never met Ross, who did the visual and sound effects.  There’s things I’d still tweak if I could do so myself, but there’s already been enough back-and-forth revisions over email that I can’t really ask those folks to keep changing things.  Having a couple sit-down working meetings during post-production could have prevented some of those revisions, resulting in less work and a better product.

6.  If I ever hold a contest, think carefully about the criteria.

I feel bad for Bob Chapin; he’s been flamed by some supporters of one of the losing teams, really wants to put some of the losing episodes into his series, and is now obligated to put the three winners in there even though one doesn’t fit the premise of his series at all.  He abdicated too much control over that, and was too permissive, perhaps.

7. My friends, cast & crew rock.

‘Nuff said.  Thanks again to all the volunteers.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

