You can’t take it with you (can you?)

I had a brief production meeting last night for a music video I’ll be working on tomorrow, as a sort of last hurrah gig in Seattle.  I’ll miss being a part of this scene; more than anything right now (which isn’t saying too much, as we’re living out of suitcases in a neighbor’s basement) it felt like home.  Folks I’ve worked with in the cast and crew, including some unexpected connections (a gentleman from the Academia is in it, for example), locations I’ve used before… and having played ninja and been ninja wrangler before, multiple times, I’m also able to anticipate wardrobe issues that may not have occurred to them, suggest ideas for

Dickies: Ninja Approved!

the shoot, etc.  The potential gapping issue between mask and gi top lead to the discussion of needing several “little ninja dickies”, which I’m sure will be a topic of discussion on set and at the wrap party.

Might have to try to make it to the wrap party, as many of the folks I know won’t be on set when I am, but the degree of connections is just silly… without even going in to second-degree relations, the projects I’ve worked on that this directly connects to via (often multiple) cast or crew or location include:

Ordinary Angels

ManCrush

Dorkness Rising

Big Love and Search & Destroy @ Balagan Theatre

The Hunted: FmF

The Mikado

Lost Souls @ Cornish

4W Workshop

Paddy Crean Workshops

ISMAC workshop

FightDesigner workshops of last year

Graceling trailer

JourneyQuest

Demon Hunters Orientation Video

And in thematic similarities (ninjas or main characters in common) there’s a video game reference footage gig, Dorkness Rising, and Big Bad Heist.

All for a one-day scene in a music video.  Sometimes it’s a small world in this big city of ours.  Sad to leave it.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Blog crossover alert « A Road Mess Traveled on June 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    […] 11 Jun …because sometimes the themes of moving and of my side business overlap, have a gratuitous cross-post to Them’s Fightin’ Words! […]

  2. By Blog crossover alert | A Road Mess Traveled on May 16, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    […] …because sometimes the themes of moving and of my side business overlap, have a gratuitous cross-post to Them’s Fightin’ Words! […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

