Squeaky Break

Ostensibly I’m on Spring Break now, so I’d planned to catch up on lots of things, including this blog. As blogging is more fun than grading papers, redoing resumes, etc, it may just happen now…

Been a while. A crazy while. [incomplete sentences, -5 points. I should be grading papers…]

Things worth mentioning:

  • SETC: This was my first time going to a regional theatre workshop since the Thespian Honor Society in high school, and SETC is I believe the largest in the country. It was huge- thousands of high school and college students, grad students and faculty, expo vendors, etc. I’ve done many stage combat and martial arts workshops, but this was a good peek at the world I’m transitioning towards. Classes were available from 8:30am to 10:30pm or so, without break, so the pace was pretty intense and there was no way you could see everything. Really this deserved/deserves its own post and more time for reflection/processing, but I’m not sure if that will happen any time soon or not. Ben Cameron’s keynote was good- not sure if there’s video of that online, but there’s plenty of his other talks available, like this one with TedTalks.
  • Finally saw Legacy of Light, despite several last minute complications (understudy the day I was going to attend with my wife, and they decided to skip the opening scene- with the swordfight- because of that, so I rescheduled, then the babysitter had to back out, etc). They did good work, and it’s a solid script. There was one minor fight annoyance (they added a stomp knap to one punch that was just way too obvious), but these things happen.
  • Been trying to deal with some of the many odds & ends & parts in my props area. Put together a couple swords from them so far, and there’s a few more in the works. Hope to do a website update sometime in here.
  • Keeping busy with coursework- 18 credits is unquestionably a full load (overload, actually), but there aren’t any of them I’d want to give up. Simultaneously feeling like I’m too busy and like I’m not doing enough, given my need to finish in two years (for financial reasons).
  • Submitted an entry for this contest. We’ll see if anything comes of it- if so, I’ll be scrambling to get things together for a web video project.

Upcoming business, much of which has been recently developed:

  • First Bluest Eye fight rehearsal tonight, continuing through Friday.
  • Covering for an unarmed stage combat class at William & Mary (Pops’ class) Thursday afternoon.
  • Auditioning for a video gig in DC on Tuesday. Would pay fairly well, but means commuting for the audition and a couple days of shooting- and would mean cutting my hair.
  • Auditioning for a show at Barksdale (where Legacy of Light was) Monday night after class.
  • I’ll be teaching Public Speaking this Spring/Summer at VCU.
  • I’ll be teaching a couple stage combat units at a high school this Spring/Summer.
  • I’ll be doing a couple stage combat and action movie type classes for high school students at VCU this Summer.
  • Still hoping to submit a proposal for a show on campus next Fall. Really liking one I just recently got my hands on, but it’s long, and demanding of the actors… and they’re limiting release of the rights thus far. We’ll see.
  • Interview tomorrow morning about gun wrangling/armoring for a local indie film.

I’m sure there’s something I’m forgetting, but for now I should get back to grading papers…

Cross the late rabbit and the Mad Hatter and we're getting close to a likeness...

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 16, 2011 at 11:12 pm | Permalink

    Cutting the hair, eh? Hm–that is a conundrum. Having had hair to the butt and cutting it off to the shoulders, I have to tell you: it feels pretty awesome. I think I’ve lost 5 pounds at least…:)

    • Posted March 16, 2011 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

      Wouldn’t be the first time. Cut it about five years back, had it short for a while (was looking in to police work, actually). My wife’s the main proponent of the long hair at the moment, but it’ll probably need to go short again at some point in the next year or so anyway- anything that might conceivably be a hindrance in job interviews will need to be seriously reconsidered once I start getting faculty interviews.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

