Everybody’s a Critic… but not all are in the Richmond Theatre Critics Circle

Kicked off this morning with a nice email in my in-box, sent to me and Jan Powell, interim artistic director of Richmond Shakespeare and then-guest-director of Macbeth last February:

Hi Jan and Kevin,

I know you are both relatively new to Richmond but you may have heard about the Richmond Theatre Critics Circle (RTCC) and the awards thing we do every fall. It’s like our own little Tony awards, it’s also a fundraiser for a local charity – the Theatre Artist’s Fund – and it’s usually a raucous good time. It generally works like your typical awards show: we critics choose 5 nominees for each award category and then one person or production receives the award on the night of the event. But also, sometimes we single out individuals for special recognition.

This year, the RTCC has singled out Kevin Inouye for Outstanding Achievement in Fight Choreography for his work on Macbeth. Congrats, Kevin! We all concurred that the fight scenes in Macbeth were among the best we’d seen in town.

The awards gala this year will be held on October 14th at the November Theatre downtown, starting at 7pm. Kevin, I hope you can attend the event to accept your award. (Jan, I’m pretty sure there’ll be other reasons you’ll want to attend…)

If you want details about previous year’s shows, you can check out our website at www.rtccva.org. If you have any other questions, please let me know.

Thanks,

Dave

David Timberline

Theatre Critic, Style Weekly magazine (www.styleweekly.com)

Chair, Richmond Theatre Critics Circle awards (www.rtccva.org)

Don’t you love how me being relatively new to Richmond allows for the in-character exposition there? I thought it was a nice touch, especially for the out-of-towners. You’re welcome.

Always nice to have the recognition, the positive reviews that also came with MacB, and also the chance to hobnob; that’s a career skill I need to further hone. Hopefully this will help me drum up more work around town. I’m supposedly meeting some time next week with the Artistic Director from VA Rep (who I did Legacy of Light‘s fights for two years ago when he was directing it at Barkesdale Willow Lawn) about offering SAFD certification courses in stage combat, which might also open other doors. Hopefully, this is another momentum-generating nudge in the right direction.

Anyone want to help teach me how to tie a bow tie? I think the schedule will avoid either of the two film gigs I’m in negotiations about, but we’ll see.

Now award winning!

 

Thanks again to Ryan Bechard and Andrew Mitikades for giving me such able physical actors to play with!

Classes start next week at both William & Mary and Christian Youth Theatre. My class at John Tyler Community College is a three week intensive, so that’s not until later, but it’d good to have some syllabi done, Blackboard sites up, orientations mostly finished, IDs and parking permits dealt with, and otherwise beginning to feel ready to enter professorial life outside of grad school.

One Comment

  1. Karen
    Posted August 23, 2012 at 5:17 pm | Permalink

    I’m sure you don’t remember, but I wore a bow tie a LOT in high school. Yes, I’m a girl. So sue me. So drag your talented ass out of Richmond and up to DC for a day, and I’ll teach you how to tie a bow tie!! 🙂

    (er, now I have to go off and remember how to tie a bow tie…)

    Congrats, man! That’s AWESOME!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

