Richard III

Richard III is now officially opened at Agecroft Hall. While it brings with it all the challenges of outdoor theatre (rain, insects, the occasional airplane or loud bar mitsva party down the block), it’d be hard to find a more appropriate venue for summer Shakespeare outside of one of the handfuls of period theatre recreations. Opening last night was sold out, and included a state Senator in the crowd as well as the usual healthy representation of RVA theatre professionals. EDITED TO ADD: We got a great review from Richmond Family magazine that specifically dubbed the final battle “Awesome”, so I’ll take that.

I’ll be the first to admit this show’s had some challenges, between budget for props, rehearsal schedule snafus, and weather interruptions during rehearsal, but I think they’ve pulled together a great production.

Here’s a few shots from dress rehearsal earlier this week. I need to get better with low-light action photography, and figuring out how to get the most out of my DSLR under those conditions, but at least some of these turned out well. You can see the sword I discussed previously – I had to do some repairs/improvements on the scabbard so it could hold up to Richard’s angry pacing, falls, and physical acting, but it’s working well now. I like that he’s the only one who’s sword isn’t cruciform.

Richmond Shakespeare, now merged with Henley Street and jointly putting on the Shakespeare Festival at Agecroft, was my first independently-gotten (not arranged through my grad program) fight direction client in Richmond, under then-visiting-director and now Artistic Director Jan Powell. Now they’re also my last. They’ve been great to work with over the years, and I think we’ll miss each other.

 

IMG_4540

IMG_4548

IMG_4561

IMG_4564

IMG_4589

IMG_4594

IMG_4596

IMG_4603

IMG_4606

IMG_4611

IMG_4616

IMG_4624

IMG_4628

IMG_4639

IMG_4644

 

IMG_4653IMG_4691

IMG_4699IMG_4701

IMG_4724

IMG_4709

 

IMG_4731

IMG_4741

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

